Image

Through My Eyes

Through My Eyes

Originally done for the 50 Shades of Malaysia, this is one of the two (the other being Marriage) submitted. Due to the overwhelming response from Artists, the gallery picked one for viewing. It is on sale and painted within the theme.

The Ceki deck of cards were widely popular among ethnic groups living in Malacca. Widely played by the Baba Nyonya’s and the local Portuguese, it is still played today by their descendants. The Portuguese call this game ‘Patui’.

In this piece I have chosen 1 character card. ‘Fogu’ which translates to FIRE is seen covering half the face.

I have chosen to use an ‘I Wish’ poem to best convey what I feel.

I wish to be heard
I wish for peace
I wish you would not hit me
I wish you would not rape me
I wish you would not steal from me
I wish you would not suffocate my individuality
I wish you would not take from me what was not yours to begin with
I wish for a better tomorrow

Leave a Reply

